Report #00005: Initial Research Regarding Unidentified Tome

After doing some work for the Explorers’ League in Northrend recently, my brother and I made our way  to Westguard Keep. The work we did there is unimportant, at least in the context of this report.  What is of concern here is the tome that was given to me as a show of thanks for my help. While I am very happy to have in my posession a book I do not have to return to a library, there are some odd things about this text that have caused quite a bit of interest and a small amount of alarm. On the advice of a dear friend, I have consulted Historian Karnik in Ironforge about the book. He has been unable to help me identify it, and I am searching for answers on my own at this time.

The tome itself is, at first glance, nothing out of the ordinary. It does appear to be old, but not exactly ancient. The cover is most likely a simple leather cover, dyed what may have once been black but has faded to splotches of various colors. The pages must, of course, be handled with care but do not seem to be in any danger of crumbling between the fingers. It was the runes on the cover that concerned my friend. Three green gems, etched with symbols I cannot recognize, that give off a pale glow.

The most perplexing thing about this book is what is written in it… or what each person sees as being written in it. When I looked inside, I saw  diagrams and schematics for things I do not understand and would have no idea how to build. I do not believe this is simply a matter of my being untrained in the proper skills. There are several cases of the mathematical formula being sound, but just not giving results once the numbers are plugged in that could be workable outside of a carefully contained pocket of airless space. The machines are obviously not designed to be used in such an environment. I am also at a loss to explain what the parts would even be made of. I’ve asked my brother, who knows his way around an ore vein, and he says he’s never heard of anything like “Plantinium”. How, then, is one to make a three-pronged Plantinium widget with silver-coated copperil (which I can only hypothesize to be a copper-mithril alloy) bolts?

Beyond that, there was a long section of the book written entirely in orcish! Since I have been studying the language from books Historian Karnik loaned to me, I am able to read some of it. The problem is that I can read a phrase, move on to another I am not familiar with, and look back to find that the first phrase has changed! If I stare at the page and wait for the text to change, though, nothing will happen. I suppose a watched book just doesn’t write itself. The page starts with, “Throm’Ka! Aka’Magosh.” When I move my eyes down and struggle with the faint ink over what appears to be, “Ogg ko [unreadable word(s)] gezzno. [unreadable word(s)] Bin [unreadable word(s)] g’thazag cha raznos.” and then look back up, the first phrase has been replaced with, “Lok’Narash [unreadable word(s)] dae’mon! Lok’tar ogar!” I know the first phrase is a greeting and blessing. I remembered the words from the second phrase well enough to look them up, except for the words that couldn’t be read, and I believe it is something to the effect of, “Do not be afraid. I will protect you, friend.” This is assuming the missing words would not completely change the context, and that just is not a safe assumption.  The third phrase, however… which was the first phrase when this started… is completely unknown to me. I have great doubts that even knowing the missing words would help very much.

Historian Karnik didn’t see any of that in the book. What he saw were anecdotes and half-scribbled out notes about relics and Titan ruins. At one point, I was afraid he would want to take the book from me, and I’m not sure I could have denied him permission.  Instead, he took a few hours to make careful notes on what he read and has requested that I report back to him regularly with any additional information about the tome itself, or the things he read in it.

While it was important to show the book to someone I trust and get their input, I do have some regrets about choosing my brother as that person. I fear I’ve opened some old wound in him somewhere, one that I may not even know exists as he does carry his past tragedies with him in typical dwarven fashion. Meaning, he carries them but doesn’t show them to anyone else. He was very interested in the book at first, exclaiming that he saw a list of brews he’d never heard of before. Several pages later he was reading something about how every demon has a weakness, but he said the words did not tell him what the weaknesses are. I only saw him go through a couple more pages of the book before he slammed it shut and told me I should get rid of it. He was visibly shaken, but refused to tell me what he saw on those last pages. Days later, I’m still afraid to ask him again. Whatever it was hurt him deeply, and there was a haunted look in his eyes.

Friginne said something about fel magic, but that seemed to come from his personal turmoil than any objective observation of the book. I find it unlikely that the book could be given to me by a well-trained mage, displayed to a druid, and inspected by Historian Karnik, yet none of them detect such energies. I am still carrying the book with me, and I hope to be able to write another report with more information about it.

Personal Request: If anyone reading this report has information that may help me in my research on this subject, please contact me by mail. The letter should be addressed as such:

Fizzytwizzle

Sisters of Elune

~ by Fizzy Stouthammer on 01/14/2010.

 
